Acts Chapter 8

Read your Bible or die.

"When disciples followed a rabbi, they followed him closely so they would never be out of his sight, never be someplace where they couldn’t hear him speak. They followed him so closely that his sandals often kicked up dust."

May you be covered in His dust.

If this is your first time getting Covered in His Dust, WELCOME!

👉🏽 Read Chapter 8 before reading my notes. If you don’t, my notes won’t make sense.

You can access my previous notes on Acts and Luke by signing into your account. Click 'Read Online' at the top right of this post and scroll down to find them waiting for you.

Good morning! ☀️

At the end of Chapter 7, Stephen, one of the seven deacons, is murdered, and a new antagonist is introduced.

Then they cast him out of the city and stoned him. And the witnesses laid down their garments at the feet of a young man named Saul.

Acts 7:58

What was going through Saul’s mind?

I’m going off script a bit to start today’s study. This isn’t written in the Bible; they’re just thoughts on what Paul might have been thinking. What might have been running through his mind at that time of his life?

“In those days, I was a man driven by a fervor that consumed my very being. The law of Moses was my guide, and I saw it as my sacred duty to defend the traditions of my fathers with every breath I took.

“I was powerful, yes, but not in the way you might think. My power was not in wealth or status, though I had both. It was in my zealousness, my absolute conviction that I was right, and that these followers of the Way were blasphemers who needed to be eradicated.

“People looked up to me; I was admired among the Pharisees and the Sanhedrin. I had studied under Gamaliel, a respected teacher of the law, and my knowledge of the Scriptures was vast.

“But it wasn't just knowledge—I had a fire in my belly. I believed I was doing God's will, that every Christian I pursued, every house I raided, was a righteous act.

“When they laid their garments at my feet during Stephen's stoning, it was a moment of validation. I wasn't just a bystander—I was a leader, someone they trusted to oversee this righteous judgment.

“My heart was hard, convinced that this was the path of justice. I felt a cold, calculating sense of satisfaction as the stones flew and Stephen cried out.

“He was wrong; he had to be. And I, Saul of Tarsus, would be the one to prove it.

“Yet, deep inside, perhaps there was a sliver of unease, a crack in the armor of my convictions. But I buried it deep, convincing myself that what I did was for the glory of God.

“The admiration of my peers, the power I wielded—it all fed into this narrative that I was on the right side, that I was serving the Almighty with unwavering zeal.

“So yes, I felt powerful, admired even. But it was a power laced with arrogance and blindness. I was certain, so certain, that I was doing what was right. Little did I know that this path, paved with the blood of the innocent, would soon lead me to the most humbling revelation of my life.”

How can you NOT LOVE the Book of Acts?

But before we dive in, could you do me a favor? Share Chapter 8 with someone—whether they already know Jesus or need to hear about Him.

If someone forwarded this to you, CLICK HERE to get my notes on the rest of the Book of Acts.

Up until the persecution, life was good. There was no reason to go outside of the city.

"Now the full number of those who believed were of one heart and soul, and no one said that any of the things that belonged to him was his own, but they had everything in common.

And with great power the apostles were giving their testimony to the resurrection of the Lord Jesus, and great grace was upon them all.

There was not a needy person among them, for as many as were owners of lands or houses sold them and brought the proceeds of what was sold and laid it at the apostles' feet, and it was distributed to each as any had need."

Acts 4:32-35

Do you remember the very last words Jesus spoke before he ascended into heaven?

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.

Acts 1:8

For the last few years, the gospel stayed in Jerusalem, but God, in His perfect timing, allowed persecution to push the believers out.

Now those who were scattered went about preaching the word.

Acts 8:4

This wasn't a mistake but part of His plan to spread the message beyond Jerusalem to Judea, Samaria, and to the ends of the earth—what Jesus commissioned them to do in the first place.

God used (and uses) suffering to spread the gospel. The believers were scattered.

Philip went down to the city of Samaria and proclaimed to them the Christ.

Acts 8:5

There are a couple of things to notice here.

First, like Stephen, Philip was one of the seven deacons chosen to help with the daily distribution of food and resources in the early church, making sure everyone, especially the widows, was taken care of fairly.

Like Stephen, Philip wasn’t just on the ministry team. He was filled with the Holy Spirit…

to
boldly
preach
the
Word

Second, he went to the region of Samaria. This is a big deal.

In John 4, Jesus makes a point to go through Samaria, even though most Jews avoided the area because of the hostility between Jews and Samaritans.

This decision led to His well-known meeting with the Samaritan woman at the well, where He offered her "living water" and revealed that He was the Messiah.

Why all the tension?

Understanding the tension between Jews and Samaritans is crucial to grasping the transformative impact of Jesus’ ministry. It shows why His interactions with Samaritans were so groundbreaking, shattering deep-seated barriers.

Knowing this history gives you a richer perspective on stories like the Good Samaritan and His encounter with the Samaritan woman, emphasizing the significance of His message of unity.

So grab a pen and paper, we’re going back to history class.

After the Israelites settled in the Promised Land, they were initially ruled by a series of judges. Eventually, they demanded a king to lead them like the other nations around them.

This led to the establishment of a united monarchy (a single ruler), beginning with King Saul, followed by King David and then David’s son, King Solomon. Under David and Solomon, Israel was a strong and united kingdom, with Jerusalem as its capital and the temple as the center of worship.

So far, so good.

The Division of the Kingdom

After Solomon’s death, his son Rehoboam became king. However, Rehoboam’s harsh policies alienated many of the people, especially those in the northern tribes. This unrest led to the kingdom splitting into two:

The Northern Kingdom (Israel): This kingdom consisted of ten of Israel's twelve tribes. They retained the name Israel and established their capital first at Shechem and later at Samaria.

Jeroboam, who had been a leader of the northern tribes, became their first king. To prevent the people from going to Jerusalem in the Southern Kingdom to worship, Jeroboam set up golden calves in Bethel and Dan and established alternative worship centers, leading the people away from the true worship of God.

The Southern Kingdom (Judah): This kingdom was made up of the tribes of Judah and Benjamin. They kept Jerusalem as their capital, and the Davidic line of kings continued to rule here, starting with Rehoboam.

The ‘Davidic line’ is King David’s family lineage. It’s important because God promised that David’s descendants would rule forever, leading to the belief that the Messiah would come from his family.

Jesus is often called the "Son of David," fulfilling the prophecy of a king from David's line who would establish an eternal kingdom.

"When your days are fulfilled and you lie down with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring after you, who shall come from your body, and I will establish his kingdom. He shall build a house for my name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever." 2 Samuel 7:12-13

The temple in Jerusalem remained the central place of worship for the Southern Kingdom, and despite some periods of idolatry, many of Judah’s kings tried to bring the people back to the worship of God.

The Downfall of the Northern Kingdom

Over time, the Northern Kingdom of Israel turned more and more to idol worship and strayed further from God’s covenant. As a result, they faced divine judgment.

In 722 BC, the Assyrian Empire invaded and conquered Israel. To stop rebellions, the Assyrians often moved people from conquered areas and spread the Israelites throughout their empire.

They also relocated people from other conquered regions to settle in Israel. These newcomers intermarried with the remaining Israelites, and their descendants became known as the Samaritans.

Samaritans had a mixed ethnic background and developed their own version of the Jewish faith, which caused deep tensions with the Jews.

The Downfall of the Southern Kingdom

The Southern Kingdom, Judah, lasted longer than Israel, but it also eventually fell into idolatry and moral decline. Prophets warned the people and the kings of Judah to return to God, but their warnings were largely ignored.

In 586 BC, the Babylonian Empire conquered Judah, destroyed Jerusalem, and tore down the temple. Many people were exiled to Babylon, starting what is known as the Babylonian Exile.

The aftermath

The Samaritans, originating from the mixed population of the Northern Kingdom, were seen as impure by the Jews from Judah, both ethnically and religiously. This led to deep animosity between Jews and Samaritans, which persisted into the New Testament period.

The people of Judah, who eventually returned from Babylonian exile, became known as Jews. They rebuilt Jerusalem and the temple, but the scars of exile and the memory of the Northern Kingdom’s fall remained a significant part of their identity.

That is so rich and gives so much context as we read through the entire Bible.

Worth it, right?

If I had to pick a few key books that would give you the best understanding about the history of the Northern and Southern Kingdoms and the events surrounding their fall, I would recommend the following:

1 and 2 Kings

These two books together provide a detailed narrative of the division of the united kingdom, the reigns of the various kings in both Israel (the Northern Kingdom) and Judah (the Southern Kingdom), and the eventual downfall of both kingdoms. They offer the most comprehensive overview of the political, spiritual, and social dynamics that led to the Assyrian conquest of Israel and the Babylonian conquest of Judah.

Jeremiah

The Book of Jeremiah is crucial for understanding the spiritual and moral state of Judah leading up to its fall. Jeremiah’s prophecies offer insight into the reasons for Judah’s downfall, the experience of the people during the Babylonian siege, and the exile. It also provides context for the hope of future restoration, making it an essential complement to the historical narrative in Kings.

Ezra-Nehemiah

Technically, they are two books, but they’re often studied together. These books provide context for the aftermath of the Babylonian Exile, focusing on the return of the exiles, the rebuilding of the temple, and the reestablishment of Jerusalem.

They show the continuity of God's plan and the restoration of the Jewish community after the events described in Kings and Jeremiah.

These three selections will give you a solid understanding of the division, decline, and eventual restoration of the Israelite people, covering the most critical aspects of this period in biblical history.

Consider making those books an additional Bible study. I’m not gonna lie, they’re all fairly long, but THEY ARE SO IMPORTANT.

Here’s the thing, reading and studying the Bible isn’t easy. It’s not for me anyway. I struggle to find time to read (outside of reading and preparing this Bible study), but I’m working on it.

Read for width and study for depth. We need both.

If I had to point to the ONE thing that’s made the most difference in my faith, it would be reading the Bible. Reading the Bible is how God talks to me, and prayer is how I talk to God.

One Minute Inspiration

I’m pretty sure I’ve posted this one-minute video before, but it’s SO good.

I love you,

George
Uncovering Scripture

George Sisneros is a full-time missionary in Guatemala and the founder of Ordinary Missionaries and the El Rosario Christian Academy for Boys.

He’s been married to his wife, Vonda, for 26 years. He’s a father to nine children, five adopted.

George and his family are expanding to Cuba in 2024.