I drop my notes on Luke 16 tomorrow!

The most difficult and confusing passages in the Bible

Good morning ☀️

I wanted to drop a super quick reminder to read Luke Chapter 16 today before reading my notes tomorrow.

Why?

This is how the first parable has been described by some of the best pastors I know:

"Jesus' parable of the dishonest manager is notoriously difficult to interpret, and no one seems to agree on what exactly it means." - Timothy Keller

"The parable of the dishonest manager is one of the most difficult to interpret in all of Scripture." - John MacArthur

"This parable is one of the most puzzling in all of Scripture. What did Jesus mean when he praised the actions of a dishonest manager?" - Charles Stanley

"This parable is one of the most confusing passages in the Bible." - Max Lucado

"The parable of the dishonest manager is one of the most enigmatic and difficult to interpret in all of Jesus' teachings." - R.C. Sproul

"This parable is one of the most difficult to understand in all of Jesus' teaching." - John Piper

"This parable of the unjust steward is one of the most difficult to understand of all the parables that Jesus spoke." - J.C. Ryle

I watched half a dozen full sermons on the parable,
I read commentaries and blog posts,
I Googled until my fingers bled,
and asked ChatGPT, which was useless.

And still…

95% of what I watched and read still didn’t make a lot of sense.

So tomorrow, I’ll be taking everything I learned and give you my best interpretation.

I love you,

George
Uncovering Scripture