Luke Chapter 24 (part 2)

"Shalom Aleichem!"

Good morning! ☀️

"When disciples followed a rabbi, they followed him closely so they would never be out of his sight, never be someplace where they couldn’t hear him speak. They followed him so closely that his sandals often kicked up dust."

May you be covered in His dust.

If this is your first time getting Covered in His Dust, WELCOME!

Read Chapter 24 before reading my notes. They’ll make more sense.

Access previous notes on Luke by signing into your account. Click 'Read Online' at the top right of this post and scroll down to find them waiting for you.

"Shalom Aleichem!"

“Peace to you!”

We did it! It’s hard to believe that we started the Gospel of Luke on January 1st. Crazy right? I hate to see it come to an end.

Except it’s not the end.

It’s just the beginning!

We’ll take a short break and begin the Book of Acts on June 11th!

We have a lot to cover, so let’s get on with it.

But they were startled and frightened and thought they saw a spirit.

Luke 24:37

Imagine you’re home alone.
All your doors are locked.
You’re sure of it.
But when you turn around, someone is there.
Someone who you saw die a few days ago!

The disciples were just as scared of Jesus’ appearance as you and I would be.

“Did you doubt me? I TOLD you I would come back.”

“See my hands and my feet, that it is I myself. Touch me, and see. For a spirit does not have flesh and bones as you see that I have.”

Luke 24:39

Jesus' resurrected body still had the marks of the crucifixion. This showed His disciples that He was the same Jesus who had suffered on the cross, proving His resurrection was real.

But what about us? How will we be resurrected?

"So is it with the resurrection of the dead. What is sown is perishable; what is raised is imperishable. It is sown in dishonor; it is raised in glory. It is sown in weakness; it is raised in power. It is sown a natural body; it is raised a spiritual body."

1 Corinthians 15:42-44

"But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself."

Philippians 3:20-21

The Bible says our resurrected bodies will be transformed and glorified. I love that. They won't have the same weaknesses as our earthly bodies. Many theologians believe our resurrected bodies will be perfect and whole, free from sin and physical limitations.

  • The Lame will walk.

  • The mute will speak.

  • The sick will be healthy.

  • The old will be youthful.

  • The weak will be strong.

  • The injured will be healed.

  • The anxious will have calm.

  • The suffering will find peace.

  • The brokenhearted will be joyful.

And my daughter Isabella, who was born deaf… will hear. 🥹

Despite all of this, I feel convicted and a bit sad that I even care about what my body will be like in heaven. It reveals how focused I am on myself rather than on our Holy God, even when thinking about eternity.

“Have you anything here to eat?”

Luke 24:41

Jesus probably wasn’t hungry. Why did He ask for something to eat?

He used the opportunity to take the disciples from fear to fellowship, a bond they were very familiar with. They’d shared many meals together over the last three years.

Jesus loved them, but they must have also felt loved by Him. They had a relationship with Him.

And that’s what He wants for us.

Then he said to them, “These are my words that I spoke to you while I was still with you, that everything written about me in the Law of Moses and the Prophets and the Psalms must be fulfilled.” Then he opened their minds to understand the Scriptures,

Luke 24:44, 45

"The Law of Moses and the Prophets and the Psalms" is a way to describe the Old Testament in its entirety. This phrase covers the three major sections of the Hebrew Scriptures, which correspond to our Old Testament.

The Law of Moses (Torah) – The first five books of the Bible (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy).

The Prophets (Nevi'im) – This includes both the Former Prophets (historical books like Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings) and the Latter Prophets (major prophets like Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and the twelve minor prophets).

The Psalms (Writings or Ketuvim) – This section includes Psalms, Proverbs, Job, and other writings like Daniel, Chronicles, and Ezra-Nehemiah.

He had opened their minds to understand the Scriptures just as He had done with the disciples on the road to Emmaus.

Can you imagine?

It must have brought them so much clarity and strengthened their faith in a powerful way.

I want that.
No.
I crave that!

“Thus it is written, that the Christ should suffer and on the third day rise from the dead, and that repentance for the forgiveness of sins should be proclaimed in his name to all nations, beginning from Jerusalem.

Luke 24:46, 47

God’s plan has 3 non-negotiable elements:

  1. Christ suffered and died for the sins of the world.

  2. Christ was resurrected on the 3rd day to conquer sin and death.

    THOSE HAVE BEEN FULFILLED.

  3. His message of repentance must be proclaimed to all the nations.

What does conquering sin and death mean???

Jesus coming back to life shows that death isn't the end, and there's eternal life through Him.

As Christians, we believe that sin causes death, but Jesus' resurrection beat both sin and death. This gives us hope for eternal life and forgiveness.

Sharing the gospel is an essential part of God’s plan… just as important as His death and resurrection.

The Gospel doesn’t say that all nations should come to us… it says that we are called to go to all nations.

I think about this almost every day. It’s something that has formed and continues to form the way I live my life.

“Lord, direct my steps.
Never let me be satisfied.
I want You.
I want more of You.
I want to make Your name known.”

"And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, 'Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?' Then I said, 'Here I am! Send me.'"

Isaiah 6:8

Luke's Gospel begins and ends at the Temple.

Salvation is anticipated in Chapter 1 and fulfilled in Chapter 24 with the resurrection.

In the final act of His earthly ministry, He blesses the disciples, ushering in the start of their ministry.

As I think back over Luke, one thing stands out to me more than anything. We saw Jesus in the Old Testament over and over and over again.

Throughout the Gospel of Luke, it becomes evident that Jesus' life, ministry, and purpose are deeply rooted in the Old Testament Scriptures.

From the prophecies predicting His birth to the foreshadowing of His sacrifice, the Old Testament is filled with references and symbols that point directly to Him.

This connection between the Old and New Testaments shows how consistent God's plan for redemption has been throughout history.

Jesus is the promised Savior, completing the story that started way back in Genesis.

On June 11th we’ll begin the Book of Acts, also written by the physician Luke.

New feature for the Book of Acts: If I miss anything you're curious about, let me know. I'll research it and include what I find in the next set of notes.

Have an amazing week! I’ll see you in 9 days! (I miss you already!)

I love you,

George
Uncovering Scripture

George Sisneros is a full-time missionary in Guatemala and the founder of Ordinary Missionaries and the El Rosario Christian Academy for Boys.

He’s been married to his wife, Vonda, for 25 years. He’s a father to nine children, five adopted.

George and his family will be expanding to Cuba in 2024.