Luke Chapter 6 (part 2)

Health, Wealth, and Prosperity

Good morning! ☀️

If this is your first time getting Covered in His Dust newsletter, WELCOME! Please read Chapter 6 before reading my notes. They’ll make more sense.

Today is a continuation of Chapter 6. Last week, I ended by pointing out that Jesus’ sermon, which included the Beatitudes, was actually at a different location than Matthews's account of Sermon on the Mount.

I don’t know how many times I’ve read both accounts and not realized they were different sermons. Crazy.

The scene opens with “a great crowd of his disciples and a great multitude of people.” I don’t know what a great multitude means, but I can imagine a sea of people. Hundreds? Thousands?

And then,

And he lifted up his eyes on his disciples and said,

When Jesus lifted up his eyes up to his disciples, he showed a more personal and direct address to those who were following him closely.

I
LOVE
THAT

This must have had a profound impact on the disciples. It's a beautiful example of how Jesus takes the time to engage with those who are committed to learning from and following Him.

In Luke's account, we see, “Blessed are you who are poor, for yours is the kingdom of God.”

Does that mean poor economically or poor in Spirit?

I listened to different sermons with different views. There didn’t seem to be a consensus as I did my research.

Poor Economically: Some people think Jesus is talking about those who don't have much money or those who struggle financially. They believe He's saying that even though they may be poor, they will find blessings and hope in the kingdom of God. It's about showing compassion and standing with those who are underprivileged.

Poor in Spirit: Many theologians believe that Jesus is talking about spiritual poverty. In this view, he means people who realize they need God and depend on Him. "Poor in spirit" means recognizing your spiritual need, seeking God's grace, being humble, and not overly attached to worldly values.

I have a couple of thoughts on this.

First, the Sermon on the Mount specifically uses “Poor in Spirit.”

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

Matthew 5:3

There’s no ambiguity there.

But in Luke’s account, the sentiment of the woes that follow, including "Woe to you who are rich," hints at a contrast between those who are materially self-sufficient and those who recognize their dependence on God.

Although the language includes economic terms, to me, the overall message seems to emphasize spiritual poverty and humility before God, encouraging a reliance on Him rather than on material wealth.

The ambiguity in Luke allows for both interpretations, and some argue that Jesus may have intended a multi-layered meaning. I’m going with that ❤️.

We have to keep in mind that we’re reading the Bible with Western eyes. Modern Western worldviews affect how we understand and interpret scripture.

“Give to everyone who begs from you, and from one who takes away your goods do not demand them back.”

Luke 6:30

Really? What does that mean exactly?

I want to walk carefully here. These are my opinions based on my research.

The command (and yes, it’s a command) emphasizes a selfless and compassionate attitude toward others, even those who may not be able to give back.

The principle is grounded in a love that goes beyond what might be considered “normal” and includes loving your enemies, doing good to those who harm you, and lending without expecting anything in return.

It emphasizes a spirit of compassion and generosity. Even if you choose not to give money directly, there are other ways to express care and concern for those in need, such as acknowledging them, treating them with dignity, and offering a kind word.

I think it’s presented as an ideal to strive for. It encourages us to embody a selfless and generous love that reflects the character of God.

When we lived in the States (almost 12 years ago), there were always people with signs at the top of the I-25 exit ramps. It frustrated me because I’d seen documentaries about how some of those people actually drove a better car than I did. I often thought, “Get a job instead of begging,” or “They’ll just use it on alcohol or drugs.”

I don’t remember stopping and talking with them. I don’t remember praying for them. For some crazy reason, I DO remember being angry and frustrated with them.

The level of begging in the States PALES to the begging you see here in Guatemala, which is just a small representation of most of the world.

We regularly have people knocking on our gate.

Some ask for something to eat.
Some ask for medical help.
And some ask for prayer.

I’m still healing from the person I was in Colorado. I often beg God, “Lord, when someone knocks at our gate, fill my heart with compassion.” And then, “Test me in this. Give me more opportunities to give. Give me more opportunities to love. Send more people to our gate.”

Judge. Forgive. Give.

I think we all understand what Jesus is asking us to do in verses 37 and 38. But what does THIS scripture mean?

“Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap.”

Luke 6:38

It almost sounds like a poem! Why have I never stopped to understand it? Why, for most of my life, have I just read right past SO MUCH OF THE BIBLE?”

Let’s dig deeper.

Good Measure: When giving grains or goods in ancient times, the phrase "good measure" refers to a generous and full measure. It implies giving more than the minimum or the expected amount, showing a spirit of abundance and generosity.

Pressed Down: The imagery of "pressed down" suggests pressing and compacting the contents of a measuring container. When measuring grain, for example, it means pressing it down to ensure that there is as much as possible within the measure. In the context of the verse, this signifies that what is given will be densely packed and abundant.

Shaken Together: "Shaken together" follows the pressing down and involves shaking the container to settle the contents further. This ensures that there is room for even more within the measure. The picture painted is one of not just giving a standard amount but going beyond, allowing for a greater measure.

Running Over: The phrase "running over" signifies that the measure is filled to the brim and overflowing. It conveys the idea of excess and abundance. The person receiving will not just get what was expected but will receive more than can be contained within the original measure.

The idea is that when you give generously and with an open heart, the return or reward will be abundant and overflowing.

That
Does
Not
Mean…

Health, Wealth, and Prosperity.

"Can a blind man lead a blind man? Will they not both fall into a pit?"

Luke 6:39

The image of a blind person leading another blind person suggests a lack of spiritual insight or understanding. The point is that if someone who is spiritually blind (lacking understanding of God's truths or moral principles) tries to guide another person in the same condition, both are likely to end up in trouble or error.

The "pit" symbolizes the consequences or dangers that result from following misguided leadership. This parable emphasizes the importance of seeking and following wise and spiritually discerning leaders.

Don’t be lazy in this. I believe this could be all the difference in your spiritual growth or even in your salvation.

Consider reading 9 Marks of a Healthy Church by Mark Dever. Here are the chapter titles:

Mark One: Expositional Preaching
Mark Two: Biblical Theology
Mark Three: The Gospel
Mark Four: A Biblical Understanding of Conversion
Mark Five: A Biblical Understanding of Evangelism
Mark Six: A Biblical Understanding of Church Membership
Mark Seven: Biblical Church Discipline
Mark Eight: A Concern for Discipleship and Growth
Mark Nine: Biblical Church Leadership

Notice there aren’t chapters on:

Building Aesthetics
Size of the Congregation
Social Activities
Musical Style
Service Length
Celebrity Endorsements
High quality daycare or teen programs

"So, then, you will recognize them by their fruits."

Matthew 7:20

Only one thing is worse than producing no fruit: producing bad fruit. Let there be no mistaking that people of God, the chosen branches of the perfect Vine, can bear unripe, sour, bitter, rotten, and foul-smelling fruit. I’ve done it. I’ve also seen it, smelled it, and eaten it. We can even be morally and religiously upright and produce rotten fruit.

The thing about good fruit is that it can’t be faked. Sometimes, our goal for bearing immense fruit is to have a camera-ready table display—to be seen, noticed, and marveled over. This kind of branding is so prevalent that we’re no longer sure we know the difference. But this is grotesquely incongruent with the gospel.

By Beth Moore, excerpted from Chasing Vines

“Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I tell you?

Luke 6:46

Man. That scripture is convicting. But I love it. It calls me to deeper obedience. It calls me to pray, “Lord, Lord, show me every area in my life where I’m not doing what You tell me to do.”

“If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned but have not love, I gain nothing.”

1 Corinthians 13:3

Look for Chapter 7 on Friday!

I love you,

George
Covered in His Dust

To read back issues of the Covered in His Dust Bible study newsletter, click on “read online” at the top right.

Next to the “Subscribe” button, there are three lines. Click on those.

Enter your email.
Check your email.
Click “Get Access”
BOOM! Just scroll down and read to your heart’s content.